RSS

We we we so excited, we so excited.

29 Mar

I should really be doing the work that I have had to take home today, but I thought I would bring you some mid-week joy in the form of some of the latest greatest that I’ve got my ears round recently.

Firstly, Summer Camp have been biscuiting their way around the blog circuit quite a bit recently, and rightly so. They are playing at XOYO this Thursday for just £3! They have a brilliant aesthetic that you can see in their video below, like some kind of American 80s coming-of-age film nostalgia. I love the look, and the choice below is, albeit above their normal standards, one of the best songs I’ve heard in the past year, with one amazing video. Incredible. I only hope they can maintain a standard this high when they release an LP, and live.

Next up is Kurt Vile and the Violators. A great name for a hot band, who are going to have the same kind of success as Girls had last year this year, despite having been releasing music for longer. The similarity with Girls doesn’t end there, as Kurt is like a Bruce Springsteen jizzing all over any Girls track from the first album. Some tracks on the album are really square and when he sings “But I think  by now you probably think I’m a puppet to the man, but I can tell you right now that you best believe that I am.” you might question my judgement here. However, listen to this live performance of Baby’s Arms below and note the difference.

Rebecca Black. Wildcard.Superstar. Not even fit. Can’t even sing. Definitely loaded now. What a whore.

This one is from Joe Crumble, he likes it, I like it.

For a more dancey number, we have the offensively named Christian AIDS. They will be playing at the forthcoming Stag & Dagger, which, as a perinneal attendee, I wholeheartedly recommend.

A treat here for you in the form of the long-awaited Justice come-back. Justice were the sound of 2007 and absolutely made nights out back then, so here’s to hoping that they can return with just as good club music, without sounding dated. Are they still with it? This track isn’t convincing me.

Better than either of those dance tunes comes an obscure little one. Dorian Concept is an electronic artist from Austria and Oliver Thomas Johnson’s EP “Her Tears Taste like Pears” can be heard below courtesy of the soundcloud. I promise you won’t be disappointed, it’s a damn good listen.

That should do you for now.

YOWICS. Peace. xoxo

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “We we we so excited, we so excited.

Leave a Reply

 
