RSS

Jamaica + Ten Bears + Dancing Guy 10/06/2010

16 Jun

Apologies for not getting around to the Stag and Dagger debauchery post I know you were all looking forward to but that was too extreme for the internet. Just look up ‘King Neptune’ on urban dictionary!

Anyway, the good time guys and gals of crumble united have been to an unusual amount of gigs for our otherwise-apathetic couch loafing selves. On 10th June, last week some time, we went to see Jamaica at The Lexington in Islington. First stop Tortilla of course!

The first band Ten Bears were pretty good actually. I remember very little about them except for this double-denim lunatic dancing in front of us. I was convinced he was a girl until my friends pointed out that he was in fact a guy, but then, from his dance moves I think anyone would have come to the same conclusion. He was fun.

Jamaica, as you might know from previous posts are a new Kitsuné label band who have been on the scene as Pony Pony for a while but never made it big. They are back with a more rocky sound which is fun, lively and happy. It’s a good sound but it’s nothing new. Essentially your standard verse-chorus 3 piece band (lead & vocals, bass, drums) they play quite standard songs.

You wouldn’t think so having heard I Think I Like U 2 and seen the video! However, sadly, the band didn’t quite live up to my expectations and whilst they were short and entertaining (boom boom!) they were lacking in the spark that exudes from I Think I Like U 2.  Probably the best moment of the gig was when the band were trying to bring the crowd forward to make people dance near the front insisting that they wanted to see dancing and I shouted (yes, Jamaica, it was I) “c’est la fete!” which pleased the French band and the crowd went mental and bought me loads of drinks and were stuffing drugs up my nose and girls were literally taking all their clothes off and trying to dagger with me naked (which is basically sex btw).

The dude is a God though!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Jamaica + Ten Bears + Dancing Guy 10/06/2010

  1. crumblelondon

    June 16, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Definately a guy…

    I forgot Pump Up The Jam!!

     
  2. panda

    June 16, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    the person dancing in front of us in denim was a girl! definitely a girl. no??

    also, it was all about the ‘pump up the jam’ encore. the best bit of the night for me.

     
    • panda

      June 16, 2010 at 7:52 pm

      (encore by ten bears)

       

Leave a Reply

 
